Choices

How can people want two things at the same time? Yes I am talking about two completely opposite things. It’s not about those extremely yummy desert flavors you can’t decide between. They say that one needs to be aware of what one wishes for. It may just come true. It’s a little like that. How do you explain it? Maybe it is really about what you want versus what you have to do? Or is it about what one wants may eventually lead to what one is hoping against and it makes choices so difficult.

In life one may come across many such situations. Life is all about choices isn’t it. But do you get to make that choice. That’s the question one may need to ask. And that is the question I ask myself so many times. Do I make my own choices or do I let life make them for me. Do I chase my own happiness or do the right thing. In love, in relations, with friends, with family, with mates, what are the choices you make? Sometimes you struggle, you try to go against norms, and you try hard to be different, to make a difference to follow the road less travelled. But has it made all the difference?

I have learned that whatever the choices you make, there isn’t really a right or a wrong choice. And maybe that is because I really don’t know better. And sometimes I do wonder what if I had chosen differently. My religion teaches me that, things are chosen for you by your past karma and that you will get what you deserve. So I stay laid back safely in the knowledge that whatever I get is meant to be by the virtue of my own past doings. I try to work towards a more good life in my next birth by choosing to do good, choosing to be kind in my present life.

But sometimes maybe you just want to break free. Make the choice that you really want, be rude once in a while and not care about the consequences. Maybe that’s being a little selfish but maybe being selfish towards oneself will lead to being selfish for the rest. Like they say, one needs to love oneself first before one can love others. Maybe there is a fine balance between right and wrong, wants and needs. It is just that balance that we need to find and when we do that, maybe we will finally accept our choices and be at peace with our life.

This entry was posted in Random Ramblings and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment